Mechanical Engineering Annual Convocation 2017


Monday, October 16, 2017

The Department of Mechanical Engineering held its annual Convocation Ceremony on Wednesday, October 4th, 2017. At this special event, our community had the great pleasure of honoring the winner of our Distinguished Alumnus Award, Dr Modjtaba “Moji” Ghodoussi class of ’91 in recognition for outstanding contributions to telemedicine and medical robotic systems and welcoming a new year's crop of faculty, graduate students, researchers, staff, and senior undergraduates. We highlighted our ever-improving Capstone Design Projects, which is making strides towards becoming even more interdisciplinary.

Among the highlights of the event were the ME Department Honors and Awards, where we take special time to recognize the contributions of just some our exceptional faculty and students. Graduate student honorees, past and present, include Brian Emery, Alexandra Downs, Marcela Areyano, Sean Wang and Fabio Pasqualetti and the winners of the ME/EE Capstone Design Projects, 2017, were given another moment in the spotlight. Among other awards were:

Best TA Award: Karthik Chikmagalur

Best PhD Award: Jackson Travis Del Bonis-O'Donnell 

Distinguished Alumnus Award: Dr Modjtaba “Moji” Ghodoussi Class of '91.

To conclude the event, a select group of graduate students delivered talks on their research areas in an event known as the "Grad Slam". 


News Type: 

In the News