Industrial Advisory Board

Working closely with the Mechanical Engineering Department, the Industrial Advisory Board (IAB) helps maintain the excellence of our undergraduate and graduate programs and encourages the Department to continue improving its broad, rigorous, 'hands-on' approach to engineering education. The IAB meets every two years to provide invaluable feedback on our current operations and future plans.

Board Objectives

The IAB provides advice to the department on a broad range of topics and, in particular,

  • helps keep the Department up-to-date on current and future needs of graduates,
  • assists the Department in developing and implementing its goals,
  • links students and scholars to industry and government representatives,
  • facilitates communication between industry leaders and Department, and
  • promotes the needs of Gauchos in seeking public and private support.

We extend a heartfelt thank-you from the Department to all of our members and participants.

Industrial Advisory Board Members, 2020-21

Oliver Heckman, Head of Engineering, Coda

Tom Duerig, CTO and Founder, Confluent Medical Technologies 

Pete Murray, COO at DOMO Modular

Adam Kennedy, Program Area Chief Engineer, Emerging Technologies, Ratheon Vision Systems

Shana Diaz, Director, Starship Engineering, Space X

Marcel Tremblay, Director of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering, FLIR Systems, Inc.

Alastair Winn, Retired CEO & Founder, Applied Silicone Corperation 


Faculty & Staff Participants to the IAB Meeting, May 11, 2021

Prof. Frederic Gibou, Department Chair 

Prof. Eckart Meiburg, Director of the Undergraduate Program, ABET Accreditation Organizer

Prof. Jeff Moehlis, Director of the Graduate Program, ABET Accreditation Organizer 

Dr. Geoff Tsai, Design Program Lead

Dr. Tyler Susko, Capstone Program Lead

Kathryn Hopkins, Assistant to the Chair

Hannah Morse, Undergraduate Advisor

Meghan Tanner, Lead Director of Development

Steve Ramirez, Lead Director of Development