People

Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Bassam Bamieh

Professor

Engineering II, Room 2333 (805) 893-4490
bamieh@engineering.ucsb.edu
Matthew Begley

Professor

Engineering II, Room 2361B (805) 679-1122
begley@engr.ucsb.edu
Glenn Beltz

Professor & Associate Dean

Harold Frank Hall, Room 1004 (805) 893-3354
beltz@engineering.ucsb.edu
Ted Bennett

Associate Professor

Engineering II, Room 2321 (805) 893-8115
bennett@engineering.ucsb.edu
Irene J. Beyerlein

Professor

Engineering II, Room 2339 (805) 893-4458
beyerlein@engineering.ucsb.edu
Francesco Bullo

Professor 

Engineering II, Room 2325 (805) 893-5169
bullo@engineering.ucsb.edu
Otger Campas

Assistant Professor

BioE, 3004 (805) 893-4015
campas@engineering.ucsb.edu
Samantha Daly

Associate Professor

Engineering II, Room 2347 (805) 893-3381
samdaly@engineering.ucsb.edu
Frédéric Gibou

Professor and Chair

Engineering II, Room 2335 (805) 893-7152
fgibou@engineering.ucsb.edu
Elliot Hawkes

Assistant Professor

Office: Engineering II, Room 2332 | Lab:Engineering II, Room 2234 (805) 893-3408
ewhawkes@engineering.ucsb.edu
Carlos G. Levi

Distinguished Professor

Engineering II, Room 1361D (805) 893-2381
levic@engineering.ucsb.edu
Bolin Liao

Assistant Professor

Office: ESB, Room 3231E | Lab: ESB, room: 2323 805-893-7251
bliao@engineering.ucsb.edu
Paolo Luzzatto-Fegiz

Assistant Professor

Engineering II, Room 2328 (805) 893-2670
fegiz@engineering.ucsb.edu
Eric Matthys

Professor

Engineering II, Room 2349 (805) 893-2919
matthys@engineering.ucsb.edu
Robert McMeeking

Professor

Engineering II, Room 2361A (805) 893-8434
rmcm@engineering.ucsb.edu
Eckart Meiburg

Professor

Engineering II, Room 2351 (805) 893-5278
meiburg@engineering.ucsb.edu
Carl Meinhart

Professor

Engineering Science Building, Room 3231F (805) 637-7859
meinhart@engineering.ucsb.edu
Igor Mezic

Professor

Engineering II, Room 2323 (805) 893-7603
mezic@engineering.ucsb.edu
Jeff Moehlis

Professor and Vice-Chair

Engineering II, Room 2341 (805) 893-7513
moehlis@engineering.ucsb.edu
Sumita Pennathur

Professor

Engineering Science Building, Room 3231C (805) 893-5510
sumita@engineering.ucsb.edu
Linda Petzold

Professor

Bio Engineering, Room 3106 (805) 893-5362
petzold@engineering.ucsb.edu
Beth Pruitt

Professor

Bio Engineering building, Room 3108 (805) 893-5115
blp@engineering.ucsb.edu
Alban Sauret

Assistant Professor

EII, 2334 805-893-2308
asauret@engineering.ucsb.edu
Tyler Susko

Lecturer PSOE

Engineering II, Room 2330 (805) 893-3252
susko@engineering.ucsb.edu
Megan Valentine

Professor

Engineering II, Room 2361C (805) 893-2594
valentine@engineering.ucsb.edu
Henry T. Yang

UCSB Chancellor and Professor

Office of the Chancellor, Cheadle Hall, Room 5221 (805) 893-2231
henry.yang@ucsb.edu
Enoch Yeung TBD TBD
eyeung@engineering.ucsb.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Paul Atzberger

Associate Professor

South Hall, Room 6712 (805) 893-3239
atzberg@math.ucsb.edu
Katie Byl

Assistant Professor

Harold Frank Hall, Room 5115 (805) 893-4924
katiebyl@ece.ucsb.edu
Kimberly Foster (805) 403-7426
Kfoster@engineering.ucsb.edu
Joao Hespanha

Professor

Harold Frank Hall, Room 5157 (805) 893-7042
hespanha@ece.ucsb.edu
Patricia Holden

Associate Professor

Donald Bren School of Environmental Science and Management, Room 3508 (805) 893-3195
holden@bren.ucsb.edu
Arturo Keller

Professor

Donald Bren School of Environmental Science and Management, Room 3420 (805) 453-1822
keller@bren.ucsb.edu
Kevin Plaxco

Professor

BioE, Room 3002 (805) 893-5558
kwp@chem.ucsb.edu
Yon Visell

Assistant Professor

Elings Hall, Room 2213 805) 893-8352
yonvisell@ece.ucsb.edu

Lecturers

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Kirk Fields

Lecturer

Engineering II, 2109 (805) 893-4686
fields@engineering.ucsb.edu
Casey Hare

Lecturer

Engineering II, 3361C casey@engineering.ucsb.edu
Steve Laguette

Lecturer

Engineering II, Room 2324 (805) 893-2652
laguette@engineering.ucsb.edu
Trevor Marks

Lecturer

Engineering II, Room 2101 tmarks@engineering.ucsb.edu
Matt Sprankle

Lecturer

sprankle@engineering.ucsb.edu

Emeriti

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Karl Astrom

Professor Emeritus

kja@control.lth.se
Sanjoy Banerjee

Professor Emeritus

banerjee@engineering.ucsb.edu
John Bruch, Jr.

Professor Emeritus

jcb@engineering.ucsb.edu
David Clarke

Professor Emeritus

clarke@engineering.ucsb.edu
George Homsy

Professor Emeritus

bud@engineering.ucsb.edu
Keith Kedward

Professor Emeritus

kedward@engineering.ucsb.edu
Gary Leal

Professor Emeritus

Engineering II, Room 3329 (805) 893-8510
lgl20@engineering.ucsb.edu
Wilbert Lick

Professor Emeritus

willy@engineering.ucsb.edu
Glenn Lucas

Professor Emeritus

gene@engineering.ucsb.edu
Noel MacDonald

Professor Emeritus

nmacd@engineering.ucsb.edu
Ekkehard Marschall

Professor Emeritus

Engineering II, Room 3361C epm@engineering.ucsb.edu
Stephen McLean

Professor Emeritus

mclean@engineering.ucsb.edu
Frederick Milstein

Professor Emeritus

frdmlstn@engineering.ucsb.edu
Thomas Mitchell

Professor Emeritus

Engineering II, Room 3361C tpm@engineering.ucsb.edu
George Robert Odette

Professor Emeritus

Engineering II, Room 2343 (805) 893-3525
odette@engineering.ucsb.edu
Brad E. Paden

Professor Emeritus

paden@engineering.ucsb.edu
Theofanis Theofanous

Professor Emeritus

theo@engineering.ucsb.edu
Marshall Tulin

Professor Emeritus

mpt@vortex.ucsb.edu
Walter Yuen

Professor Emeritus

yuen@engineering.ucsb.edu

Staff

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Ryan Chambers

R&D Engineer 2

EII, 2109 TBD
rchambers@engineering.ucsb.edu
Greg Dahlen

R&D Engineer

Engineering II, Room 2101 (805) 893-2041
dahlen@engineering.ucsb.edu
Julie Dunson

Financial Services Manager

Engineering II, Room 2355C (805) 893-5835
jdunson@engineering.ucsb.edu
Katelynn Ellison

Undergraduate Program Assistant

Engineering II, Room 2355A (805) 893-8198
katelynn@engineering.ucsb.edu
Samuel Feinstein BioE, Room sdfeinstein@engineering.ucsb.edu
Kirk Fields

R&D Engineer

Engineering II, Room 2109 (805) 893-4686
fields@engineering.ucsb.edu
Amanda Hart

Contract and Grants Manager

Engineering II, Room 2355G (805) 893-7460
ahart@engineering.ucsb.edu
Deanna Hearth

Management Services Officer

Engineering II, Room 2355H (805) 893-2859
deanna@engineering.ucsb.edu
Josh Johnson

Systems Administrator

EII, Room 3361C (805) 893-5417
support@me.ucsb.edu
Trevor Marks

R&D Engineer
 

Engineering II, Room 2101 (805)893-8440
tmarks@engineering.ucsb.edu
Charlyna Meraviglia

Assistant to the Chair & Academic Personnel

Engineering II, Room 2355E (805) 893-8080
chairasst-me@engineering.ucsb.edu
Laura Reynolds

Graduate Program Assistant

Engineering II, Room 2355B (805) 893-2239
laurarey@engineering.ucsb.edu
VACANT 805-893-2430
frontdesk-me@engineering.ucsb.edu
Melecia Valdez

Employment Coordinator

Engineering II, Room 2355H 805-893-3176
meemployment@engineering.ucsb.edu

Visiting Scholars

Name Title/s and Department/s Office Phone and Email
Haitau Li Eng. II, Room 2305

Researchers and Visitors

Name Title/s and Department/s Office Phone and Email
Hassan Arbabi

Postdoctoral Scholar, Mezic Group

Engineering II, Room 2211 harbabi@engineering.ucsb.edu
Jonathan Berger

Postdoctoral Scholar,McMeeking Group

Building 489, Room 119 berger@engineering.ucsb.edu
Zhe Chen

Postdoc, Daly Group

EII, Room 2313 zhec@umich.edu
Noy Cohen Engineering II, Room 2309 noyco@engineering.ucsb.edu
Brian Drawert

Asst. Project Scientist

Engineering II, Room 1506 bdrawert@cs.ucsb.edu
Emmanouela Filipiddi

Postdoctoral Scholar

Elings, Room 1235 filippidi@mrl.ucsb.edu
Sameh Helmy

Postdoctoral Scholar
 

Elings Hall, 2442 805-893-3516
shelmy@engineering.ucsb.edu
Saber Jafarpour

Postdoctoral Scholar

EII, Room 2217 saber.jafarpour@engineering.ucsb.edu
Douglas Jerolmack

Visiting Faculty

EII, Room 2336 sediment@sas.upenn.edu
Nicholas Judy

Associate Specialist

Engineering Science Building, 3231G nbj86@engineering.ucsb.edu
Pascal Karam

Junior Specialist

Engineering Science Building, 2413 p.r.karam@gmail.com
Thomas Koellner

Postdoc, Meiburg Group

EII, Room 2301 t.koellner@engineering.ucsb.edu
Charlie Macintosh

Junior Specialist

Engineering Science Building, Room 2411 cmcintosh@engineering.ucsb.edu
Sean Mackenzie Engineering Science Building, Room 2413 sean_mackenzie@umail.ucsb.edu
Maria Teresa Napoli

Associate Specialist

Engineering Science Building, 2411 napoli@engineering.ucsb.edu
Brian Piorek

Postdoctoral Scholar

ESB, Room 2415 bpiorek@engineering.ucsb.edu
Karen Scida

Postdoctoral Scholar

Engineering Science Building, Room 2411 scida.karen@engineering.ucsb.edu
Yanqing Su Engineering II, Room 2235 yanqingsu@ucsb.edu
Travis Trusty

Junior Specialist, Mezic Group

Eng. II, Room 2235 travtrusty@gmail.com
Alejandro Vega Flick

Postdoctoral Scholar, Liao Group

Engineering Science Building, Room 2403 avegaflick@gmail.com
Bernhard Vowinckel

Postdoctoral Scholar

Engineering II, Room 2301 vowinckel@engineering.ucsb.edu
Takuya Yamamoto

Professional Research Engineer

Engineering II, Room 3101 (805) 893-3848
yamataku@engineering.ucsb.edu
Emir Yasun

Specialist Scientist

Engineering II, Room 2211 eyasun@gmail.com