University of California, Santa Barbara

About the Department

330    Undergraduate Enrollment, Fall 2013
73   Graduate Enrollment, Fall 2013
36   Faculty & Lecturers
11:1   Student:Faculty Ratio

The Department of Mechanical Engineering at UC Santa Barbara was founded in 1964. Our world-class faculty offers accredited programs leading to the degrees of Bachelor of Science (B.S.), Master of Science (M.S.), and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D). The outstanding educational and research opportunities in our department are further enhanced by the many interdisciplinary activities that abound at UCSB.


Mission Statement

We offer an education that prepares our students to become leaders of the engineering profession and one which empowers them to engage in a lifetime of learning and achievement.



Francesco Bullo
Professor and Chair
bullo [at] engineering [dot] ucsb [dot] edu

Frederic Gibou
Professor and Vice Chair
fgibou [at] engineering [dot] ucsb [dot] edu

Chair's Message
Francesco Bullo
Portrait of Francesco Bullo

Welcome to the Mechanical Engineering Department at UCSB!  

It is a distinct honor for me to serve as Chair for our Mechanical Engineering department. ... more>>

contact mechanical engineering