University of California, Santa Barbara

Sumita Pennathur Selected to Receieve Darpa's Young Faculty Award

Published Date/Time: 
March 18, 2008

UCSB Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor Sumita Pennathur has been selected to receive a prestigious Young Faculty Award (YFA) from the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), the ce

American Society for Engineering Education Honors Laguette

Published Date/Time: 
March 15, 2008

The American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) has voted a paper by Stephen Laguette, lecturer in Mechanical Engineering, as one of the five best in its Design in Engineering Education Division. Laguette will present the paper, Integration of Industry Partners into a Capstone Design Program, during the Society’s annual conference in Pittsburgh, PA, June 22-25.

Dr. Michael North, Mechanical Engineering Alum, Co-Host of New Discovery Channel Series, "Prototype This"

Published Date/Time: 
October 29, 2008

Dr. Michael North received his BS, summa cum laude with distinction, in Mechanical Engineering, as well as his MS and PhD in Materials Science and Engineering from UC Santa Barbara.  

Professor Kimberly Turner Appointment Chair of Mechanical Engineering

Published Date/Time: 
October 29, 2008


Professor Kimberly TurnerKimberly Turner has just been appointed Chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering. The appointment is effective November 1, 2008.

Professor Tom Soh Receives NIH Director's High-Risk Research Award

Published Date/Time: 
September 25, 2009

Professor Tom Soh

NEW YORK (GenomeWeb News) – The National Institutes of Health today said it is awarding $348 million for bold research, visionary scientists, and aggressive young researchers through the 2009 NIH Director's High-Risk Research Awards program.

Anthony G. Evans 1942 - 2009

Published Date/Time: 
September 22, 2009

Professor Tony Evans

We are extremely saddened to share with you the news that Professor Anthony Evans passed away Wednesday morning, Sept. 9, 2009, at home with his family. Professor Evans was a renowned researcher and scientist, a dedicated teacher and mentor, and a beloved campus colleague. He made enormous contributions to our university and to the world community.

Professor Francesco Bullo elevated to IEEE Fellow

Published Date/Time: 
November 23, 2009

Professor Francesco BulloPlease join us in congratulating Francesco Bullo on being chosen an IEEE Fellow. The IEEE Board of Directors, at its November 2009 meeting, elevated Francesco Bullo to IEEE Fellow, effective, 1 January 2010, with the following citation:

Seminar on "Bubbles in Microfluidic Systems: Surfactant-Driven Flows and Self-Propulsion"

Monday, November 16 | 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Room 2053, MRL
Published Date/Time: 
December 1, 2009

Ann Lai 
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA

"Bubbles in Microfluidic Systems: Surfactant-Driven Flows and Self-Propulsion"

Syndicate content
contact mechanical engineering