University of California, Santa Barbara


News RSS Feed
March 11, 2011
The Faculty Research Lecturer is the highest honor that this university bestows on the faculty. As the chair of the Faculty Research Lecturer Award Committee, it is my great privilege and honor to announce that the winner of this year’s Faculty Research Lecturer is Professor Linda Petzold of the Department of Computer Science and the Department of Mechanical Engineering.
March 1, 2011
March 1, 2011 Per Danzl is the recepient of the 2011 Best PhD Thesis Award in Mechanical Engineering at UCSB, for his dissertation entitled "Dynamical Characterization and Feedback Control of Oscillatory Neural Systems," completed in Spring 2010.
February 28, 2011
New Book Features Local Engineering Program
January 19, 2011
The W.M. Keck Foundation has awarded the UCSB campus $1,000,000 for a project entitled: "Nanoelectrofluidic Systems: New Tools for Nanoparticle Analysis." The PI's are: Sumita Pennathur (ME), Frederic Gibou (ME), Todd Squires (ChemE), Paul Atzberger (Math and ME), and Andrew Cleland (Physics). We are very excited about this team, and about the scientific breakthroughs that this sort of funding will enable. The abstract of this new project is given below: ABSTRACT OF PROPOSAL:
December 14, 2010
$50,000 Prize awarded in DARPA DMACE Challenge. The UCSB team was led by Professor Frank Zok, and included Professor Matt Begley as well as PhD students Nell Gamble and Chris Hammetter
contact mechanical engineering